Our Trip to Castillo San Felipe del Morro – San Juan, Puerto Rico

Standard

My husband and I normally celebrate our birthdays with a vacation, so when I asked him where he wanted to celebrate his birthday one year, without hesitation he said Puerto Rico.  I was excited about that, since it had been about 30 years that I had not visited. Though my parents were born and raised in Puerto Rico and I in the US, I was excited because it meant going back to my routes and show him the island.

We had a 7:25am early flight from Tampa to San Juan and we were exhausted, as we had waken up at 3:45am to make sure that we would have enough time to get to the airport and through security.

It was a hot and muggy Thursday afternoon when we arrived and we were exhausted. I went to get us a taxi – “Taxi Por Favor” (means, Taxi please in Spanish), the guy came over and took our luggage and off we went.  When we got to the resort, we paid our taxi guy a $12.00 cab fee fair for one way.  Finally, we were about to explore!

With no timeline, there were so many places and food that I wanted him to experience. On this day, we were heading to the Castillo San Felipe del Morro in Old San Juan. The day was finally here, it was time to explore Puerto Rico. We took a taxi from our resort to the fort and started to walk.

With so much history to see, we couldn’t wait to get inside. The Castillo San Felipe del Morro is a 16th-century citadel located in the heat of Old San Juan. The entrance to the fort was only $3.00 and I have to say that what you see inside is well worth more than that. It has excellent panoramic views of the city, historical setting and informative tours.

005

Entrance to the fort

039

My husband standing next to the San Juan National Historic Site Sign

The fort was named in honor of King Philip II of Spain and with over a million visitors exploring the Castillo, it makes Puerto Rico’s top tourist attraction. Located in the Caribbean on the northwestern-most point of the islet of Old San Juan, this place is a “Must” see if you travel to Puerto Rico.

042

Entrance to the fort

029

Picture of El Morro with ocean view

It was so hot, we both felt like we were going to pass out.  Our clothes were drenched and we were drinking a lot of water like there was no tomorrow.  At one point, I had to stop under a tree and kneel down because I thought I was going to collapse ( see picture below).

038

Taking a break under a tree

045

Breathtaking views

009

Inside the fort

049

Sitting in front of the American Flag, Puerto Rico Flag and the Cross of Burgundy Flag ( http://www.puertoricodaytrips.com/el-morro/)

024

sitting on top of the Cannon Balls made from stones, iron and lead

The fort is part of the San Juan National Historic Site. If you ever decide to visit Puerto Rico, make sure to stop and tour El Castillo San Felipe del Morro, with so much history, you won’t regret it!!

Happy Travels ~ Ruthie

